Baroque Jazz Chamber Group

Lukas Dreyer

Lukas Dreyer

Cello
Lukas Dreyer

As founder of Freiraum Syndikat, my musical and conceptual ideas blend together with those of other musicians from a variety of genres within the band. I find the framework for discovery in growing current partnerships and building new relationships with others, while at the same time making room for a spirit of improvisation and creativity.

The most memorable moment of my musical career was an encounter with the jazz pianist and composer Chick Corea, who was on the European tour “In the Spirit of Mozart” and left me with the motto “Go to the clubs and play for your audience!”

Cellist Lukas Dreyer, who tours internationally, combines his many years of experience as the former principal cellist of Philharmonic Orchestra Altenburg-Gera and as a teacher at the Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt, Weimar with the courage for versatility to create most varied projects in chamber music.

During his time as a student, he founded the internationally touring cello quartet quattrocelli and wrote numerous arrangements for this instrumental group. Furthermore, his role as founder and head of the ensemble 12 Thüringer Cellisten consequently led to his examination of concepts regarding chamber music, orchestral music, and bands.

He is the artistic head of the WGT Musik Kammer n Leipzig, where the native Saxon also resides. As manager of the Eichsfelder Domfestspiele he assumes artistic responsibility for all areas of the festival.

Music communication, which Dreyer has been developing in his projects from chamber music to solo concerts for many years, is a genuine passion for the multi-faceted artist.

Within the project Freiraum Syndikat, his themes are finding new interconnections.

Baroque Jazz Chamber Group

Lukas Dreyer

Lukas Dreyer

Violoncello
Lukas Dreyer

Als Gründer von Freiraum Syndikat treffen meine musikalischen und konzeptionellen Ideen auf den Dialog mit Musikern aus unterschiedlichen Genres. Vorhandenes zu kombinieren, Verbindungen neu zu knüpfen, dabei auf den Geist der Improvisation und Erfindungsgeist für neue Möglichkeiten Raum zu geben, sind für mich die Spielfelder für Entdeckungen.

Den bleibendsten Eindruck in meiner künstlerischen Laufbahn hinterließ eine musikalische Begegnung mit dem Jazzpianisten und Komponisten Chick Corea auf einer Europatournee „In the Spirit of Mozart“. Er gab mir den Leitspruch:
„Go to the clubs and play for your audience!“

Der international konzertierende Cellist Lukas Dreyer verbindet seine langjährige Erfahrung als ehemaliger Solocellist im Orchester und als Lehrer an der Musikhochschule in Weimar mit Mut zur Vielseitigkeit in den verschiedendsten kammermusikalischen Projekten.

Während des Studiums gründete er das international konzertierende Celloquartett quattrocelli und schreibt für diese Besetzung zahlreiche Arrangements.
Die Gründung und Leitung des Ensembles der 12 Thüringer Cellisten führte dann zur Auseinandersetzung mit Konzepten zwischen Kammermusik, Orchester und Band-Ideen.

Er ist künstlerischer Leiter der WGT Musik Kammer in Leipzig, wo der gebürtige Sachse auch lebt. Als Impresario der Eichsfelder Domfestspiele übernimmt er die künstlerische Verantwortung spartenübergreifend.

Musikvermittlung ist dabei für den vielseitigen Künstler ein echtes Anliegen, das er in seinen Projekten von der Kammermusik bis zum Solokonzert seit Jahren entwickelt.

Im Projekt Freiraum Syndikat finden seine Themenfelder neue Verbindungen.